Design CV

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 01.42.36

Last week I had a lesson on how to make my CV the worst it could be, Well since then I have worked on the best It could possibly be! by the end of that session I came back thinking that a CV don’t have to be boring words on a page with boring information on how qualified to stack shelfs in a shop or serve drinks in a bar. I wanted to show the Employers for my placement that im not a boring person, That I can be creative and also that I love design so much I designed my own infographic CV. I feel that this will give my CV a different edge as well as being fun and interesting. Also the fact that employers get 100s of CVs in for a job, So I want mine to be remembered and stand out from the rest that way they cant not think about me when it comes to the job and I have less change of being over looked.

So for my CV I started in big bold letters! My name…. and what it is. Hard to miss you know what it is and who it is for, Simple. Next I welcome myself with a little banner along with a image cutout of myself. This was to make the CV looked more personal to me. I wasnt sure if I was keeping it at the time but all ideas that popped into my head at the time was welcomed! I then added the essentials of name, number and email address. Followed by my education from college and here at university so people can see what I have done and also what im doing that relates to a design career. I was also debating adding in my blog page because these pages show all my work and employers go do further research on my work however I feel my blog is something for me! A place where I explore Ideas and write willy nilly things where I have no worry what I write as Im not writing to an audience but just myself. Not to worry if what I say is right, Not to worry is my grammar and spelling is correct but a place where I can look back on all the ideas I had going though University and how my projects improve over the time of being here. So I think I will give it a miss to add my blog to my CV. However a moment can still arise where I feel including it may be useful.

Although I didnt ass my blog I feel my next task will be to create a webpage where I am able to show off my skills of building a website and also display all my work within the website and will all be designed by me! this will be a step forward and make me a lot more confident with code again seeing as we havent done any website coding since last year. So this will most likely we the next project I work on.

I then moved to my Skills. Now this was hard for me because im a student and im still learning and also constantly getting compared with other students that may be a little better than me however this makes me feel like I dont know enough so im always trying to keep on top and learning new and different things each day. I originally had the percentages at the bottom of the page to show how well I know each topic like Photoshop and xcode but how I mentioned before, Im still learning this so whatever I put in there is wrong and will be out dated everyday im in uni. I then added a Ven Diagram showing Design, Coding and problem solving with me in the middle. This was just to show employers that I am good at design as well as coding and also at the same time I am also good a problem solving. I though this looks good on the page but I still feel its not that important.

I then moved onto a timeline of my education but all I had was 4 things and it wasnt that interesting so i scrapped the idea to the revisit it. However this time I thought to add education along with work experiences, achievements and also life milestones of my own. So I started with 2016 at the top as I feel what I do these days are more interesting then when I got my first paper round. I stated adding when I graduated from each school and moved on to places I had worked. I thought this was a bit boring until I recalled some achievements I had made in the summers between school years. However this is a bit boring I needed to add a bit of my personal touch so I thought why not add countrys I had visited throughout the years as this shows something I love to do and also show an employer that my im up for new experiences no matter how big they are. This could turn into a conversation at an interview where I will be able to tell them what experiences I have gained from doing this, Exploring different cultures totally different from my own and also the fact that I have travelled 6,000 miles away with neither a mother or father by my side to a foreign country where I cant speak the language let alone even read the kanji symbols. This shows employers that I have independence for myself while making tough decisions, which include what country to go to but also what to do while Im there. This includes communication with locals and sometimes its not as easy when you dont know the language and  also navigation and organisation is very important as when traveling you need to know where you are going, how to get there and be sure to arrive on time. So adding travelling is key to show what sort of person i am and also what I am capable off.

Finally my intreats I added at the bottom. I thought I will use my charts in the end but for what i find intreating and also my own rating on how much I love that topic so of course what is first… Travelling with a massive 90% This is simply because I love travelling however travelling cost money and even though I love trains and flying… I hate delays and other problems that may happen when travelling. Moving onto Photography and Film, or my hobbies as I would say. I love photographing images as if they are to tool of never forgetting the moment. but at the same time capturing a fantastic image that is so visually appealing. The same goes for film both truly amazing however I feel I have nothing worth while to take images so this is again why I love travelling as I see new places and capture the moment forever. However this is a hobby as Im totally useless at it, it also helps to my more creating filler content in my work as well as inspiration in my designs and drawings. Next we have music, Growing up I listened to lots of music and this is what brought me close to some of my friends however over the years my taste has varied and is a bit over the place. Music helps me concentrate and depending on the type of work im doing the different music I listen to expanding how i think and letting creativity flow free. Up next would be Coffee… Now coffee isnt really a normal interest but it is a ball of fluff protecting your heart. Its the go to thing for all of lifes issues…. getting up and alive in the morning, getting you thought the day, helping you stay awake during essay hand ins, Coffee is my life saver. But also its a drink you have when you bump into an old friend, and also new friends for that matter. Coffee also opens new opportunities and just by leaving the house early to grab that coffee opens you up to seeing the world in a different light. But not only the drink but the smell of coffee and the taste of coffee ice cream and also coffee memories. The first time I ever had coffee was in a cake I help make with my grandma when I was little. I loved it so much I wanted to make 1000 more of them that day. So to me Coffee is not only a drink but also a social event and memories. Cinema for me is just a posh way to say I like to watch a lot of TV and films, which is very true but more about enjoying the storyline of people in all sorts of different situations but also the emotions the shows put you though. I enjoy a good horror movie as I like to work out the where the jump scares will be and watch my friends cry in fear, but also the how it makes myself feel. I like being scared when I know there is no real fear to be scared of. then on the opposite side you have Comedies where they make you feel happy and enjoy yourself while watching. But also you have the relatable dramas that dont always have a happy ever after but you build a bond with a character and know how they feel as if your not alone in the world. Then Lastly you have the Superhero films, You gain the hope that you are being protected by this person but really I love it for the fact that there are people dressed up in fancy dress that are out to kick the enemies butt! but it is so unrealistic as there are no super powers, no evil villains as nobody has that much power along with hatred for people in the world crimes like this will be at a small scale thrown into prison. Then finally you have Disney shows where you get to feel like the kid you wish you still were and pretend your taking your little sibling to see the movie and its not for you. I could go on but finally I have Puzzles. Now i love solving problems so what I love to do are puzzles as well as challenges. I would always get the newspapers and complete the sudukos witch my mother believes is witchcraft. I then so all the puzzles I find in newspapers and magazines but thats not always enough so amazing with the app store I am able to download all the apps I please and more. This also includes challenging games that make you have a timer to complete the puzzles that makes it so much more interesting 🙂

And that is my whole CV explained so far! however this could change as I will take this into uni for people to tear apart and pick out whats good and bad just to make it the best possible CV I can make in the end.

Leave a Reply

