Blog Button

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 01.52.35 Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 02.40.58

The other day I had the issue of the giant grey box in the middle of the page to which I thought? Do i need to hid it at all? All i wanted to do was have an excuse to use jQuery and add cool buttons to my page just to show that I can do this and more when I get my head to it. But it really wasn’t needed on the page. So in the end I just took it out.

After this I thought I could still add a button in my about page! Seeing as its about us and what we are doing, Instead of a few lines of text only highlighting good things about us we could link it to our blogs so everybody looking on the page can also see the progress of making the page as well.

After I made the link I then but a box around it to look like a button as well as a hover over so it changes to red and fades back to the original colour again to make it look pretty. Below I have added the CSS for the button there, Adding the buttons was fine but making it line up nicely and look good on the page was the more tricky part due to changing one simple thing or missing one thing out it could be placed in the wrong place. But in the end I got there and it looks nice and matches the rest of the page nicely. When looking what I could improve on I thought about writing our names into the link as well. But this looks cramped and also a bit repetitive as our names are just above so I just made them all say View Blog in the end again.

Screen Shot 2015-04-17 at 11.18.10 Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 02.59.59

___________________________________________________________________________

References:

Unknown., 2010. How to create an HTML button that acts like a link? Available from: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2906582/how-to-create-an-html-button-that-acts-like-a-link [Accessed on the 5th April 2015]

Leave a Reply

