HTML #3

Screen Shot 2015-02-19 at 12.16.54Screen Shot 2015-02-19 at 12.07.50 Screen Shot 2015-02-20 at 09.53.16

Todays lesson I worked on from last week! So I started by adding a text called Lorum Ipsum, Which is a text that is really random and is used to show where text would go on the page. This is useful as this means I dont need to put as much effort in when it come to text and thinking of paragraphs that I dont know what they will say yet! then at a later time i can change it to what I want to say. Then I moved on to adding borders to my content box and also the navigation bar. After this I started changing the layout of the boxes. I wanted the boxes to have a a space between them both so they stand out more. After this I had to change my whole colour scheme as it didnt go and needed to change. I went with purple as that is my fav colour. after this I worked on text. I had to change it to white so it was visible on the purple box. and I did this for both the content and nav. after this I saw My content box was bigger than it should be by a few pixels. Then I looked into why and I could see I have my border at 3px so it makes it bigger by 6px. To fix this I have to take the 6px from the content box so instead of 800px it is not 794px. After all of this I started changing random things for the sake of it. I started buy making the boxes change colour when they are hovered over, and also placing the text in the middle of the box it is contained in. Also added a header to each box so It links up to the nav bar. This was important so I can link them up. I wanted it so when you click on the name in the nav bar it links up to the text in the content I did this by adding links and <a> tags to the code. I also added an overflow in the content! this is so I can make the content box as big as I like and it adds a scrolling bar so it dont look out of place on my page. lastly I just needed to work out why I had the links and also the names repeated on the page in my nav bar but this was only due to repeated code that was unneeded, So i just deleted it. Then that concludes me today! I think I really have inproved from last week and am really enjoying HTML.

Screen Shot 2015-02-19 at 12.04.28 Screen Shot 2015-02-20 at 09.56.06

___________________________________________________________________________

References:

Wilkinson, P., 2015. Workshop. Available from: Bournemouth University [Accessed on the 20th March 2015]

Leave a Reply

