Poster Project – Putting my Ideas into Illustrator

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.11.28 Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.21.11 Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.16.20

So i’m sitting on the train, On my way home for Christmas and I thought why not be productive and start my poster in illustrator for the whole trip back. I downloaded Adobe Illustrator Trial last night, So I have 30 days to use the program and finish my project which should be plenty of time from today.

So from my final idea I had all of my Facebook friends on a Family tree so what I needed first was a tree. So I looked on google for a nice tree with some branches and came across this one above. I then used the pen tool like I had learnt in the workshop when copying the Starbucks logo a few weeks back. I then used this pen tool to outline the tree to get every bump and bobble. After this I was able to make the tree trunk for my tree, I did this by doing exactly the same as I did the top half of the tree.

After doing all the outlines I was able to colour in the tree, So I went classic and drawn the tree with nice green leaves and brown branches and trunk. I also added a shade onto the tree as later on I am planning to do a shadow of the tree in the background. In the meanwhile I just changed the background to a black with a gradient of white in the middle but this may change depending if I like the shadow or not.

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 11.28.04

Leave a Reply

